The Society

The Society of Grasslands Naturalists (GN) is a non-profit charitable organization based in Medicine Hat, Alberta, Canada.


  • To encourage study and protection of the natural world.
  • To provide educational opportunities such as lectures, field trips and publications.
  • To encourage the preservation of natural habitat and aesthetic natural features.
  • To assist in the collection and provision of records of species for statistical and educational purposes.
  • To act as stewards of the environment.



Yearly membership based on calendar year:

Individual: $20
Family: $25
Organization: $25

See Contact us for mailing address.

Membership form

Nature Alberta Extended Membership

GN members qualify for a Nature Alberta “Extended Membership” at a cost of $20/year which includes the full colour e-version of the magazine.

  • 1 year Extended Club Membership – $20.00 e-version; $35.00 hard copy.
  • The Extended Membership can be purchased directly from the Nature Alberta Membership Webpage.


Donations to Grasslands Naturalists are another great way to support local nature and nature education.

Tax receipts are issued for all donations over $10. Your generosity is greatly appreciated!

Donations can be made by cash or by cheque payable to Society of Grasslands Naturalists and delivered either

  • in person at the Police Point Park Nature Centre or
  • by mail (cheques only) to Grasslands Naturalists, Box 2491, Medicine Hat, AB,T1A 8G8

Medicine Hat Interpretive Program

GN manages the Medicine Hat Interpretive Program (MHIP) located at the Police Point Park Nature Centre.

Society Bylaws

These are the current bylaws.

Executive and Directors

  • President: Hugh Armstrong
  • Vice-President: Anne Bernhardt
  • Treasurer and Memberships: Eileen Cowtan
  • Secretary: Betty Rainville
  • Past-President: Dave McKenzie
  • Directors at large:
    • Angela Turner
    • Ian Turner
    • Linda Fisher


Budget Committee

  • Paul Thibault (Chair)
  • Hugh Armstrong
  • Anne Bernhardt
  • Eileen Cowtan
  • Dave McKenzie
  • John Slater

Communications Committee

  • Chair: Angela Turner
  • Emails: Eileen Cowtan
  • Facebook: Tina Regehr
  • Newsletter: Milt Spitzer
  • Website: Paul Thibault
  • Corlaine Gardner
  • Anne Bernhardt
  • Ian Turner

Field Trips

  • John Slater (Chair)

Fund Raising Committee

  • Hugh Armstrong (Chair)

Governance Committee

  • Paul Thibault (Chair)
  • Hugh Armstrong
  • Anne Bernhardt
  • Eileen Cowtan
  • Dave McKenzie
  • John Slater

Indoor Program

  • Linda Fisher (Chair)

Issues Committee

  • John Slater (Chair)
  • Hugh Armstrong
  • Marty Drut
  • Dave McKenzie
  • Dwayne Meyers
  • Martha Munz Gue
  • Tina Regehr

Operations Committee

  • Bob Townsend (Interim Chair)
  • Anne Bernhardt
  • Carol O’Brien
  • Elaine Spitzer
  • Bob Townsend

The GN President, Hugh Armstrong, is an ex-officio member of all committees with voting right.

Projects and Programs

Birding Trail Project

  • Phil Horch (Chair)
  • Hugh Armstrong
  • Lloyd Bennett
  • Marty Drut
  • Mackenzie Fai
  • Bob Frew
  • Rob Gardner
  • Colton Prins
  • John Slater
  • Milt Spitzer
  • Paul Thibault

Bird Tales Project

  • Dee Armstrong and Paul Thibault (Co-chairs)
  • Dwayne Meyers
  • Elaine Spitzer

Carol Porter Bluebird Trail Project

  • Milt Spitzer (Chair)
  • Peggy and Mike Hansen
  • Lorraine and Randy Stotz
  • Mel Bender
  • Ann and Dennis Hall
  • Ennyd and Cled Jones
  • Phyllis and Ross Strobel
  • Beth and Ted Turner
  • Ric Carrier
  • Carol and Brian Lowery
  • Dee and Brent Cowan
  • Jim and JoAnne MacFarlane
  • Donna Steele and Sue Higgins

Interpretive Program, Police Point Park

  • Corlaine Gardner (Chief Interpreter)
  • Valerie Martins
  • Marty Drut

Webcam Project

  • Hugh Armstrong (Chair)
  • Paul Thibault

External Organizations

Nature Alberta

  • Angela Turner
  • Ian Turner (alternate)